If you know someone who has horrible health insurance, raise your hand.
Yes, even you in the back knows someone with horrible health insurance. You know, the kind that you can’t afford to go to the doctor because it costs so much…
Last month, I had to get an MRI done. Of course, they didn’t find anything, but yet I got a bill for $1800 in the mail. Apparently they can only bill people “out of network” and since my insurance covers NOTHING out of network, I’m up a creek without a paddle.
And it pisses me off. I told my doctor that this issue I was talking about only happened once every 6 months or so. I told her it was when my blood sugar is normally low and when I’ve been up too late too many nights in a row. I told her that it was fine most of the time. But, she wanted me to get the MRI. She NEEDED me to get the MRI. And, instead of doing blood work which would probably get to the base of the problem, I owe the people $1800, which I don’t have.
And the worst is that she wouldn’t talk to me about my headaches until after the MRI. The headaches we’ve been dealing with medically for 6 months and nothing is working. The secondary issue affects me twice a year. The headaches affect me twice a month (or more). I now can’t afford to go talk about the headaches until at least next spring, and the secondary issue hasn’t shown up once since September.
Did I mention that life has been heaving me around in different directions lately? I found out the my income for the next 6 months will be restricted (for reasons that don’t need to be discussed here), and that as of November 1st, I have to rely on Buki to carry a lot more of the burden. Well, where the hell are we going to come up with $1800, when it took me 6 months to save the $200 I needed to (finally) get a new computer. I look forward to getting closer to 30 while still eating Ramen because it’s all I can afford.
Now, I know that everyone will be pissed at me for saying this, but we need nationalized health care. My uncle had gallbladder surgery in Australia, and it cost him about $600. Then when he came back to the states and had a couple of follow up tests done, it cost him thousands. Surgery = $600, follow up tests = over $2000. That makes no sense. Now, I’m not saying health care should be free, but I am saying that we as Americans need to able to afford basic procedures. $1800 for 30 minutes in a machine makes no sense. That much money is around 10% of my annual take-home income. For 30 minutes in a machine. Ludicrous.

