P1050636

My dad too is unemployed. Long story short, he thought he was opening the shop with my mom, but plans changed.

So, this past month, he’s been working on a couple of projects that people have hired him for. For example, the Tuskegee Airmen hired him to make banners for their upcoming celebration. He’s been working with this lattice design on kites, and they’ve been a HUGE hit. So, he thought he’d try his hand at banners.

Let’s just say that these are the only lattice banners he’ll ever make. They’re beautiful, but a HUGE pain in the ass to make. I mean, it took him WEEKS of constant work to get 8 done. It probably averaged out to about 10 – 12 hours per banners.

But, aren’t they pretty? (If you’re wondering, the numbers are the squadron numbers that the Tuskegee Airmen were a part of. They’re organized in the order in which they were developed. 332 was the first, and then the rest fell in after that.)

P1050652

This photo was taken right across the street from my mom’s shop. Yes, it’s true, you can see the Currituck Lighthouse from her store. This is about an hour drive from my house, in case you’re wondering. And before you ask, no, I’m not going to work for my mom. She can’t afford to pay me what I need to survive.

The end.

