It’s been raining occasionally out here, and I love it. I went to sleep last night with the sounds of lightning and thunder pounding on the house.

It’s odd, this year. We’ve had a fire going on not too far west of the island for almost a month. But, it hasn’t hit the national news because they don’t want to mess up the tourist season. So, people get out here and are surprised when the smell of smoke occasionally overcomes the whole island. It’s just a matter of which way the wind is blowing, but for a while there it was literally making me sick.

So, the moral of the story is that people are actually being nice about rainy days this summer. People are understanding that the rain makes the fire go out, and when the fire goes out, the smoke will finally go away. The area on fire has been burning for almost a month, and without a few good days of rain, there’s no hope of it going out.

I have to make a confession… I’m not really missing the internet as much as I thought I would. I’ve been checking my email a couple of times a week and haven’t been writing or reading anywhere. I miss all of my bloggy-goddesses, but that’s admittedly it. I still need to get my computer fixed, though. I can’t believe how long its been since I’ve read any blogs regularly. Preita, how’s the house? Ally, hows Miss A? Pocklock, when are you due?

Lots of love from the beach! -Me

