10 years ago, I was a freshman in college. Bright eyes, ready to change the world. Today, I sit at my desk in an office, and can only reflect on the changes in 10 years.
In 10 years:
*My parents moved from Detroit to North Carolina
*Dad went from being an engineer for Ford to being a retail manager at a clothing store.
*Mom went from being a housewife to being a retail manager for a kite store.
*I opened a new kite shop for a huge company.
*I left said kite company and went to work for a wholesale kite company.
*Dad quit his retail job, mom quit her retail job, they decided to open a kite shop.
*I quit my job and moved back to the beach to help them open their kite shop.
*I worked for a bank
*I worked for a coffee shop
*I worked for a disc golf company
*I interned at a fair trade coffee company
*I learned how to sew, knit, crochet… and more
*I had dreadlocks, twice
*I lived in Mexico
*I lived in Detroit
*I lived in Boston
*I lived in Indiana
*I moved to the Beach (twice)
*I moved to Austin (twice)
*I went to school to be a music teacher
*I changed my major when I figured out I wanted to take History classes
*I learned Spanish
*I forgot Spanish
*I relearned Spanish
*I fell in love
*I got my heart broken
*I fell in love again.
*I learned that “they” were right, time heals wounds.
*My brother joined the Army
*He was deployed in Baghdad for almost 18 months
*He came home with “issues”.
*He’s still working through them.
*He met a wonderful woman and married her.
*I managed to get the best sister-in-law in the universe.
*I wrote a 75 page thesis on Chile
*I brought fair trade coffee to my university campus
*I traveled from Indiana to DC countless times in college to participate in marches
*I adopted 2 cats
*I moved them cross country, twice
*They hated it
*They love me
*My hair has been: black, blond, red and brown
*I got tattooed
*And again
*And a third time
*I had up to 15 piercings in my body, most in my ears
*Wait, no. Make that 16.
*I learned how to wear heels, skirts and makeup
*I took a photography class
*And another. Which hooked me on photography for life.
*I photographed bands
*I photographed people
*I photographed events
*I learned that not everything needs to be taken seriously
*I learned that some things can ONLY be taken seriously
*I fell in love again
*I moved in with him
*Life is good

There’s so much more, but I thought that this was a good starting point.
Much love,
Cassafrass

